Evangelicals & the Bible

Faith Improvised

Over the past several years, as I’ve taught the Bible in various settings, I’ve heard something odd from evangelical people.  And I’ve heard it often enough that it seems fair to call it a pattern.  When I first began to hear it, I was baffled.  I couldn’t imagine the sort of mindset that would give rise to the comment.

I began to hear it often enough from undergraduate students that I developed some responses that I’d trot out, using the occasion as a teaching moment.

Over the past few months, though, I’ve heard it more regularly, and I’ve tried to figure out what’s behind it.  I’m not sure I’ve completely wrapped my head around it just yet, but I’m going to take a few posts to think out loud about it.

I think that the comment I’ve been hearing indicates something that’s a bit warped about how evangelicals regard the…

View original post 666 more words

Comment

